Tags

, , , , ,

Why is it that I do things that I hate just because I hate that I hate them?  It’s an annoying characteristic, really.  As I’ve mentioned in past posts on outdoor sports, the one sport that I have never been able to love is running.  It’s a sport that supports my wandering mind rather than focuses it.  It gets tiring fast (certainly a clue that I’m out of shape, but still), and I often see little rewards.  And now, on June 12th 2011 I am running the Lake Placid Marathon.

Here’s what happened.  I’m struggling to find enough work to pay the bills, and as many other freelancers or unemployed people know, nothing impedes on your mind and body quite like job and money stress.  It’s infuriating, and as much as I try to capture the “uninhibited unemployed” mentality, I instead push it away and fall into the ever-so clichéd “funk.”  So here I am, in a funk and in need of a goal.

The easy thing to do in this situation would be to create a goal out of something I love: climb a 5.12 without taking a fall, bike on the Blue Ridge Parkway longer than 10 minutes, do more than 3 pull-ups.  But running always lingers in my mind; it floats there spitting out phrases like, “I’m free” and “you suck at running.”  The biggest accomplishment, then, will be to not only have a large (and scary) goal like running a marathon, but also to tackle my heckler.

So, after a brief 5 minutes of searching for marathons during the summer of 2011, I decided on the Lake Placid marathon.  The Adirondacks (or ‘Dacks if you’re a Northeast climber) are my home mountains and although the course will be a bit hilly, I know its spectacular views and gorgeous summer weather will make it worth the agony.  I impulsively registered for the race, got in my car, and drove to the bookstore to sit in the “Running” section and read about marathon training.  I adapted a number of “Beginner Training Schedules” that I found in new and old books into my own schedule that is conducive to my life and needs.  You will see the schedule below.  Comments and suggestions from veteran marathon runners are very welcome!  In fact, I will be insulted if you do not leave a tip for me.

I will be whining, cheering, fist pumping, and shouting here on Living Flavor throughout the training process.  Wish me luck!

My Beginner Marathon Training Schedule
WEEK MON TUES WED THURS FRI SAT SUN
1 2 miles 

10 min abs

Yoga 2 miles 

Light Weights

Xtrain 10 min
2 2 miles Xtrain 

20 min

2 miles 

10 min abs

Yoga 2 miles 

Light Weights

3 miles
3 3 miles Xtrain 

25 min

3 miles 4 miles
4 3 miles Xtrain 

30 min

3 miles 5 miles
5 Xtrain 

20 min

3 miles Xtrain 

20 min

4 miles 6 miles
6 Yoga 3 miles Xtrain 30 min 4 miles 7 miles
7 2 miles Xtrain 30 min 3 miles 5 miles
8 Yoga 3 miles Xtrain 30 min 4 miles 8 miles
9 Yoga 4 miles Xtrain 30 min 4 miles 9 miles
10 Yoga 3 miles Xtrain 30 min 3 miles 6 miles
11 Yoga 4 miles Xtrain 30 min 4 miles 10 miles
12 4 miles Xtrain 30 min 4 miles 11 miles
13 Yoga 3 miles Xtrain 30 min 3 miles 8 miles
14 Yoga 3 miles Xtrain 30 min 4 miles 12 miles
15 Yoga 3 miles Xtrain 45 min 4 miles 14 miles
16 2 miles Xtrain 30 min 2 miles 6 miles
17 Yoga 4 miles Xtrain 30 min 4 miles 16 miles
18 4 miles Xtrain 45 min 5 miles 10 miles
19 Yoga 4 miles Xtrain 30 min 4 miles 18 miles
20 5 miles Xtrain 39 min 5 miles 8 miles
21 Yoga 5 miles Xtrain 45 min 5 miles 10 miles
22 Yoga 5 miles Xtrain 45 min 4 miles 20 miles
23 5 miles Xtrain 30 min 5 miles 10 miles
24 Yoga 5 miles Xtrain 45 min 4 miles 8 miles
25 Yoga 4 miles Xtrain 30 min 3 miles 6 miles
26 Yoga 3 miles 2 miles RACE DAY!

